Dr. Devi Shetty
Chairman and Founder of Narayana Health

Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty is the Chairman and Founder of Narayana Health, a chain of 21 Medical Centers. He is a renowned cardiac surgeon with around 34 years of experience.

He initiated the concept of "micro health insurance scheme" in Karnataka, which eventually led to the Karnataka government implementing the Yeshasvini scheme, a micro health insurance scheme for rural farmers.

Dr. Shetty is a professor at Rajiv Gandhi University of Medical Sciences, Bengaluru, India and University of Minnesota Medical School, USA.

He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors most noteworthy being 'Padma Shri' and 'Padma Bhushan' Award in 2003 and 2012 respectively, conferred by the Government of India and 'Rajyotsava Award' in 2002 conferred by the Government of Karnataka.

He is an active member of the European Association for Cardio- Thoracic Surgery since 1996 and a life member of the Indian Medical Association. He was also a member of the Finance Committee of the 47th Annual Conference of the Indian Association of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgeons. He was a member of the governing body of the Medical Council of India between 2010 and 2011.